Tags

, ,

My head is in the clouds as I attempt my first slice, so please bare with me….

As I rang in the new year – literally rocking my baby to sleep – I began thinking about my goals in life. Real, obtainable goals.

A house in the suburbs – check
Happily Married – check
2 beautiful boys – check
A job I love – check

I am happy. Proud of myself even.  But somehow it wasn’t enough.  I needed a challenge this year – as if being a full time working mother to two boys under the age of 2 isn’t a big enough challenge. 🙂

So, I have committed to running the Chicago Half Marathon.  I haven’t ran much in the past 2 years.  And the list of excuses could go on and on.  But the fact is, I’m not running for me.  I’m running for a 2 year old girl who has been battling cancer for more than half her life.  I’m running because I want to see her smiling face on her first day of pre-school. I’m running because I want to see her smiling face as she graces the stage of her 8th grade graduation, of her high school graduation, of her college graduation.  I am running to Cure It!

If she can fight, I can run.

