Aidan has always been an EARLY riser – quite the shock to his don’t talk to me before 9am Mama! But before he begins his little boy extravaganza of soccer balls and trucks, Aidan and I have our morning cuddles. Today, as I held him, wishing he would dose off for a few more minutes, Aidan gently asked me to sing him a song. And with tears streaming down my face, I sang.

Aidan has ALWAYS loved music. The first day he was born, his first visitors in the hospital were a very proud GREAT Grandma and Grandpa. Gramps simply adored Aidan. It was love at first sight. Grandpa held Aidan and sang his favorite song, When Irish Eyes Are Smiling. It was beautiful. (If I knew how to post a video, I would share this song with the world!)

Aidan 3.12-3.17 151

Aidan 3.12-3.17 154

I write with a heavy heart and through sobs of sorrow. Gramps is singing with the angels now. I still can not believe he is gone.

Aidan is playing basketball downstairs
I need to prepare to say “good bye” to THEE MOST AMAZING man I have ever met.

There’s a tear in your eye and I’m wondering why,
For it never should be there at all.
With such power in your smile, sure a stone you’d beguile,
So there’s never a teardrop should fall,
When your sweet lilting laughter’s like some fairy song
And your eyes twinkle bright as can be.
You should laugh all the while and all other times smile,
And now smile a smile for me.

